Post-NaNo Thoughts

It’s the last day of November, which of course means it’s the last day of NaNoWriMo.  Now, I hit 50k back on the 21st, but my novel still wasn’t done.  Today, I passed my previous year’s word count of 58k.  The novel still isn’t done.  So I honestly have no idea how long this novel is going to be, except that it’ll be long.  Probably longer than my longest draft written to date (which was close to 66k).

Now, what’s this all leading up to?  Well, several people have recently asked me how it is that I stay so determined with my writing; how it is that I do so much in such a shot span of time.  I didn’t think I did all that much at first, but then I started seeing that people would be lucky to get 100 words a day, as opposed to my normal 2,000 words a day.  So I suppose that means I am much more motivated than other people.  So how is it that I stay so motivated?

Writing is something that I am inherently passionate about.  It is the thing that I desire to do.  Telling these stories is what I want to do and nothing is more important to me than that.  I believe that’s what keeps me most motivated to write.  I have so many stories to tell, so I have to keep going to be able to get to all of them.  And so I keep on writing.

Pretty words aside, that’s really all you have to do, is keep writing.  There will be days where you won’t feel like writing, and it’s good to take days off sometimes, but other times you should just force yourself to write.  You’ve probably heard that advice over and over again, but that’s really all there is to it.  Push through it, keep going.  If you have a true passion for it, you’ll get to the point where the struggle becomes more enjoyable.

I’m not sure I have much more to stay than this.  Just that when I started out I was having tons of trouble writing, but then one day I decided to be more determined with what I was doing.  I made a schedule of what to write and stuck to it.  So if you want to be as productive a writer as you can be, be determined in what you do and don’t let yourself get side tracked and just keep at it and don’t let your subconscious tell you that what you write is terrible.

So I guess that’s about it for this.  I apologize for the preachiness of it.  To any of those who attempted NaNoWriMo and got the 50k goal: congratulations.  To those who didn’t reach the goal, don’t feel bad.  You did all you could and that’s the best you could do (unless you didn’t even try).  Keep writing.  Keep doing what you love.  Thank you and farewell.

2 thoughts on “Post-NaNo Thoughts

  1. A really excellent post! I don’t know why it never crossed my mind to make a writing schedule — I have a schedule and a list for most everything else in my life. I feel like having something that tells me how many words a day need to get will help motivate me, which is why I did so well for NaNo. I should definitely do that. Thanks for the tips and words of advice!

Leave a Reply

