11.08.93 – Night 1

Last night I started my new job.  I’d been searching for something for a while, but then I found this ad in the newspaper that this place was searching for a night shift watchman.  The night shift isn’t ideal, but it pays money.  The strange thing about it was when I called about the job, they hired me right then and there; they didn’t even need a resume or ask for previous job experience.  I guess they were really desperate for someone to fill the position.

So I went in just before the building closed up and introduced myself to the day shift manager.  She seemed really nervous when I told her I was the night watchman.  It was odd.  But she showed me where I’d be working: a small monitor room with a few cameras scattered throughout the building.  It’s really stuffy in that room so I have to keep this desk fan on.

After the place closed up and everyone went home, I was left for my shift.  It seemed odd, having to watch the cameras at night in such a place.  This was a children’s pizza and game center, after all.  What was so important here that I had to be looking after it for six hours during the night?

Well, I got my answers soon enough.  There was a message recorder on the desk and it was flashing with one new message.  I turned it on to listen to it.  It was from the previous night watchman and he was leaving it there for me just to give me instructions (it’s a wonder they didn’t just have him come here personally and stay with me the first night for training instead).  Anyway, at first I wasn’t really paying attention, because he was going through some legal jargan that wasn’t interesting, but something he said struck me as… unsettling.  I started listening more intently after that, and it just got worse from there.  I decided to listen to the message again after it was over and transcribed it.  This is his entire message:

Hello, hello? Uh, I wanted to record a message for you to help you get settled in on your first night. Um, I actually worked in that office before you. I’m finishing up my last week now, as a matter of fact. So, I know it can be a bit overwhelming, but I’m here to tell you there’s nothing to worry about. Uh, you’ll do fine. So, let’s just focus on getting you through your first week. Okay?

Uh, let’s see, first there’s an introductory greeting from the company that I’m supposed to read. Uh, it’s kind of a legal thing, you know. Um, “Welcome to Freddy Fazbear’s Pizza. A magical place for kids and grown-ups alike, where fantasy and fun come to life. Fazbear Entertainment is not responsible for damage to property or person. Upon discovering that damage or death has occurred, a missing person report will be filed within 90 days, or as soon as property and premises have been thoroughly cleaned and bleached, and the carpets have been replaced.” Blah blah blah…

Now that might sound bad, I know, but there’s really nothing to worry about. Uh, the animatronic characters here do get a bit quirky at night, but do I blame them? No. If I were forced to sing those same stupid songs for twenty years and I never got a bath? I’d probably be a bit irritable at night too. So, remember, these characters hold a special place in the hearts of children and we need to show them a little respect, right? Okay.

So, just be aware, the characters do tend to wander a bit. Uh, they’re left in some kind of free roaming mode at night. Uh…Something about their servos locking up if they get turned off for too long. Uh, they used to be allowed to walk around during the day too. But then there was The Bite of ’87. Yeah. I-It’s amazing that the human body can live without the frontal lobe, you know?

Uh, now concerning your safety, the only real risk to you as a night watchman here, if any, is the fact that these characters, uh, if they happen to see you after hours probably won’t recognize you as a person. They’ll most likely see you as a metal endoskeleton without its costume on. Now since that’s against the rules here at Freddy Fazbear’s Pizza, they’ll probably try to…forcefully stuff you inside a Freddy Fazbear suit. Um, now, that wouldn’t be so bad if the suits themselves weren’t filled with crossbeams, wires, and animatronic devices, especially around the facial area. So, you could imagine how having your head forcefully pressed inside one of those could cause a bit of discomfort…and death. Uh, the only parts of you that would likely see the light of day again would be your eyeballs and teeth when they pop out the front of the mask, heh.

Y-Yeah, they don’t tell you these things when you sign up. But hey, first day should be a breeze. I’ll chat with you tomorrow. Uh, check those cameras, and remember to close the doors only if absolutely necessary. Gotta conserve power. Alright, good night.

You know, at first I thought that message was some sick prank they were pulling on me.  You know, hazing the new guy and all that.  But I started checking the cameras right after the message was over and I saw that one of the animatronics – the rabbit, Bonnie – was missing from the show stage.  So maybe there was something to these animatronics being able to walk around at night.  I didn’t know that was even possible.  Okay, fine.  They could still be pranking me with the whole… death thing.  I would be fine.

Bonnie stayed in the backstage area for a while, and once when I looked its face was staring straight into the camera.  I nearly fell off my chair when I saw that.  It’s like this thing is alive and it’s messing with me, intentionally trying to freak me out.  But it didn’t move much more, except at one point I found it in the party room.  But the next time I checked the show stage, a second animatronic – Chika the chicken – had gone missing as well.  And then Bonnie started moving around more.  I was seriously getting freaked out at this point.

I kept telling myself that this was a prank and I would be fine, but the words from the message haunted me; they would kill me if they got to me.  Would they get to me?  I don’t know.  I have a power gauge in the room to show me how much is left.  Checking the cameras drains the power.  Closing the doors, oddly enough, drains it as well, so does checking the lights in the hallway.  Even just sitting still and doing nothing the power is draining, most likely due to having a light on in this office as well as this fan.  I thought of turning them off, but I needed them for my own sanity.

Toward the end of the night, I checked the door light on my left and to my great horror, Bonnie was peering into the room.  I slammed the door shut as fast as I could and started hyperventilating.  This was real.  This was all real.  They were going to kill me.  My power was draining faster.  I wasn’t going to make it, I couldn’t stand this anymore.  I just wanted to go home.  This was just a bad dream.

And then… the clock turned to six a.m.  I hadn’t even realized it for a moment.  The lights in the building came on and someone peered in to my office and asked if I was okay.  I told them what happened and they just sort of laughed.  But the night was over and I could go home.  Perhaps… perhaps it was all just a prank to freak me out.  If I ever find out who did this, though, I’m going to punch them.

I’ll log my events of tomorrow’s shift as well, just in case something else weird happens.  Maybe it’s nothing.  But there is one other thing; I keep finding these huge cobwebs (or spiderwebs?) all around the building, almost as if this place has been abandoned for years.  It obviously hasn’t been, but it’s… odd.  But anyway, that’s all for today.

Leave a Reply

