11.08.87 – Night 1

My family knew I had been searching for a job for some time.  It was my mother who pointed out the ad in the paper to me.  The grand re-opening of Freddy Fazbear’s Pizza.  I had fond memories of that place when I was a kid.  They had shut it down a long time ago for health violations, I think it was.  I remember being upset about it.  I loved that place; I loved all the animatronic characters they had.  I especially loved their pizza.  So I jumped on the chance to take the job they were offering.

I was a bit disappointed at the fact that the job had me working the night shift as a security guard.  I would have enjoyed working during the day, where I could immerse myself back in the atmosphere of the place I had loved so much when I was a child.  But hey, it was a job, I needed the money, no matter what it was.  So I called the place up and got the job almost immediately; no resume or references required.  They said I’d be starting work the next week.

I decided it’d be a good idea to get a feel of the place before going there for work.  I took my little brother along with me and he was just as thrilled as I remembered being when I used to go there.  But this place was even better than the old location.  It was so much bigger, and they had new animatronics.  I was a bit disappointed by them, though.  I kinda missed the old ones; these new ones looked much more fake and robotic than the old ones did.  They said these new ones were called “toy” versions of the characters.  They did look like plastic toys.  Clean and shiny.  I don’t know, it just rubbed me the wrong way.  Maybe I just had my nostalgia goggles on too tight.

While my brother went to play I talked to the manager about what I’d be doing, since I’d be working there come the next week.  He said there wasn’t much I needed to worry about.  Just watching security monitors from twelve a.m. to six a.m. and that was about it.  He told me I’d be getting calls from the head security guard when I started and he’d fill me in with more details since he knew better than anyone else what to expect from the job.  I thought it was odd that I’d be getting calls and not get to talk to him face-to-face but I didn’t question it.  I probably should have.

When I told my brother it was time to leave, he didn’t want to go.  I could sympathize, but there were a few new things in this place that were a bit… unnerving.  They had a new character that looked like some sort of puppet.  It really creeped me out.  A few kids said they didn’t like it either.  Then there was the new Foxy.  Not only was it white and distinctly feminine, but it was also in pieces; apparently kids kept ripping her apart and it was now a display meant to be taken apart and put back together.  It seemed odd.  When I was about to take my brother home, the Freddy Fazbear animatronic walked right up to us and said “We’re sorry to see you go, but please come back soon!  We’ll be waiting.”

The old animatronics couldn’t walk around, not back when I was a kid.  I didn’t realize we had technology like that.  It was amazing, if not a bit terrifying.  My brother hugged Freddy before we left and told me he loved Freddy.  This brought a smile to my face, but now, after this night of working for the first time, I’m not sure I want him to go back.

So I went in for my first night of work.  I came in just before closing and they led me to the office I’d be working in, with the monitors I’d be watching.  They told me to expect a call, so I sat there and waited until the phone rang.  I was rather relieved to hear his voice, though he didn’t give me much time to talk back.  In fact, when I first picked up the phone, I almost thought it was a recorded message.  He went through company policy and all that before telling me my duties.  I did get in a couple words, but not much.  Later I found that the call had been recorded, oddly enough.  I’ve transcribed it down below.

Uh, hello? Hello, hello? Uh, hello and welcome to your new summer job at the new and improved Freddy Fazbear’s Pizza. Uh, I’m here to talk you through some of the things you can expect to see during your first week here and to help you get started down this new and exciting career path.

Uh, now, I want you to forget anything you may have heard about the old location, you know. Uh, some people still have a somewhat negative impression of the company. Uh… that old restaurant was kind of left to rot for quite a while, but I want to reassure you, Fazbear Entertainment is committed to family fun and above all, safety. They’ve spent a small fortune on these new animatronics, uh, facial recognition, advanced mobility, they even let them walk around during the day. Isn’t that neat? -clears throat- But most importantly, they’re all tied into some kind of criminal database, so they can detect a predator a mile away. Heck, we should be paying them to guard you.

Uh, now that being said, no new system’s without its… kinks. Uh… you’re only the second guard to work at that location. Uh, the first guy finished his week, but complained about… conditions. Uh, we switched him over to the day shift, so hey, lucky you, right? Uh mainly he expressed concern that certain characters seemed to move around at night, and even attempted to get into his office. Now, from what we know, that should be impossible. Uh, that restaurant should be the safest place on earth. So while our engineers don’t really have an explanation for this, the working theory is that… the robots were never given a proper “night mode”. So when it gets quiet, they think they’re in the wrong room, so then they go try to find where the people are, and in this case, that’s your office. So our temporary solution is this: there’s a music box over by the Prize Counter, and it’s rigged to be wound up remotely. So just, every once in a while, switch over to the Prize Counter video feed and wind it up for a few seconds. It doesn’t seem to affect all of the animatronics, but it does affect… one of them. -clears throat- Uh, and as for the rest of them, we have an even easier solution. You see, there may be a minor glitch in the system, something about robots seeing you as an endoskeleton without his costume on, and wanting to stuff you in a suit, so hey, we’ve given you an empty Freddy Fazbear head, problem solved! You can put it on anytime, and leave it on for as long as you want. Eventually anything that wandered in, will wander back out.

Uh, something else worth mentioning is kind of the modern design of the building. You may have noticed there are no doors for you to close, heh. But hey, you have a light! And even though your flashlight can run out of power, the building cannot. So, don’t worry about the place going dark. Well, I think that’s it. Uh, you should be golden. Uh, check the lights, put on the Freddy head if you need to, uh, keep the music box wound up, piece of cake. Have a good night, and I’ll talk to you tomorrow.

I looked underneath my desk and found that Freddy head he was talking about.  I put it on once just to get a feel of it.  The man’s words hadn’t fully sunken in with me at that point.  I set the head down on the desk in front of me then went to check the video feed.  Everything seemed to be in its proper place from when I checked the first time.  I checked the video feed for the prize counter and there was an extra button on the screen for that one.  There was also a timer going down slowly.  When I held the button down the timer reset.  I glanced around that room with the camera to try and figure out which animatronic he was talking about that this music box affected.  The only one in the vicinity of that place was… that creepy puppet.

As I continued scanning the cameras, they suddenly became filled with static.  I wasn’t sure what to do about it but then the static cleared and staring into the camera in the main hall was Chica.  Not only that, but her beak and eyes were gone.  I nearly fell out of my chair when I saw that.  Now the man’s words were clicking with my mind.  They were coming into my office.  Okay… I wasn’t in any real danger though, right?  I didn’t think so.  It didn’t sound like I was by the way he had talked.  But why did she look like that now?

I checked one of the other cameras and saw Bonnie standing beside one of the vents, gazing into the camera.  My breath caught in my throat and I nearly choked on my own spit.  At least Bonnie hadn’t lost any part of his face.  Then I remembered the music box.  I switched back to the Prize Counter camera and wound it up as fast as I can.  It had nearly gone out.  Even if I wasn’t in any danger, I didn’t want to see that puppet.  It gave me the creeps.

I dropped the monitor and glanced around the office, using the flashlight to look down the hall, thankfully finding nothing.  I peered into the two vents on either side of me, which had been equipped with lights of their own.  They were empty, too.  So I kept doing this: looking at the cameras to watch for Bonnie and Chica and whether or not they had moved, and winding up the music box before looking down the hall in front of me and checking the vents.  At one point when I checked the vent to the right of me I saw Bonnie in there, peering out at me.  I nearly screamed and scrambled to pull the Freddy head over my face.  The lights in the office flickered and I saw Bonnie moving out across my vision, then everything went dark for a moment.  When the lights came back on, Bonnie was gone.

Another time, when I checked down the hall, Chica was standing there, with her creepy mangled face.  I could see the metal endoskeleton’s teeth where her beak should be, as well as the black eyes instead of the nice white ones that should be there.  The sight of her standing there was terrifying.  I wanted to put on my mask again, but I didn’t think it would work; she was too far away anyway.  I just kept flashing my light down the hall to make sure she didn’t get any closer.  At some point she was gone.  I was so relieved.

The end of my shift came before I knew it.  When I checked the cameras again, Bonnie and Chica were back on the show stage where they belonged and Chica was intact with no missing facial features.  I didn’t know what to make of it.  I left the building just as the morning shift manager came in.  She asked me how things were and I just said they were fine.  I don’t know why I didn’t tell her everything.  Maybe I was afraid she wouldn’t believe me.  It sounded ridiculous, after all.

Hopefully things won’t get much worse than they were last night.  If that’s all I have to deal with, I think I’ll be able to handle it.

Leave a Reply

