11.10.87 – Night 3

I had an unsettling dream before I went to work.  At first I wasn’t sure what was going on or where I was, but as I looked around I realized I was standing on the show stage at Freddy Fazbear’s Pizza.  It wasn’t the one I work at; it was the old location back when I was a kid.  When I looked to either side of me, Bonnie and Chica were standing there, looking at me.  And I was Freddy.  It was like I was seeing through his eyes.  It looked the way it did when I wore that mask, but more mechanical somehow, like when you stare at a TV screen.  The whole room was dark and there was an eerie sound all around.  When I turned my head there was that mechanical sound.  Then my vision turned to white static and I saw the words, “It’s me.”  Then I woke up.

What’s even more unsettling about that dream, though, is that I think I remember having one like it the day I was going in for my first night of work.  They hadn’t been looking at me before, but other than that it was the same.  I don’t know what to make of it, but it didn’t make going into work any easier.  I was already nervous about it to start with.

I settled down for the night and got a call from the head of security, just like the first two nights.  Here’s the transcribed call again.

Hello hello! See? I told you you wouldn’t have any problems!

Did…uh… Did Foxy ever appear in the hallway? Probably not. I was just curious. Like I said, he was always my favorite. They tried to remake Foxy, ya know? Uh, they thought the first one was too scary, so they redesigned him to be more kid-friendly and put him in Kid’s Cove. To keep the toddlers entertained, you know… But kids these days just can’t keep their hands to themselves. The staff literally has to put Foxy back together after every shift. So eventually they stopped trying and left him as some ‘take apart and put back together’ attraction. Now he’s just a mess of parts. I think the employees refer to him as just “The Mangle.” Uh…

Oh, hey, before I go, uh, I wanted to ease your mind about any rumors you might have heard lately. You know how these local stories come and go and seldom mean anything. I can personally assure you that, whatever is going on out there, and however tragic it may be, has nothing to do with our establishment. It’s just all rumor and speculation… People trying to make a buck. You know… Uh, our guard during the day has reported nothing unusual. And he’s on watch from opening ’til close.

Okay, well anyway, hang in there and I’ll talk to you tomorrow.

The Mangle.  What an appropriate name for that monstrosity.  It certainly did look mangled.  But that last thing he said confused and concerned me.  I hadn’t heard any rumors about this place, other than its closing years ago when I was a kid.  Perhaps people were spreading rumors because they couldn’t get over whatever it was that happened to close the old one down.  But having worked this job and seeing what these things are doing… it got me wondering.

The night before this one he had mentioned something about the old animatronics.  The only one who had appeared that night was Foxy, and it was only briefly.  Tonight, I met the other three.  Bonnie, Chica, and Freddy.  There were no signs of their newer counterparts tonight, actually.  Bonnie came into my office a couple times, and Chica came in once.  She startled me, snuck up on me while I was looking at the monitor.  I threw the Freddy mask over my head the moment I saw them.  The lights flickered and they disappeared.

It wasn’t until toward the end of the night that Freddy appeared.  Actually, Foxy had been standing at the end of the hall when my flashlight started malfunctioning.  When it came back on, Foxy was gone and Freddy was standing right there, almost completely inside the office.  The batteries were nearly dead on the flashlight.  I thought for sure I was going to die.  Between using up the last of my flashlight batteries and worrying about winding up the music box, I was in a frantic panic on that last hour.

My shift ended.  I glanced at the cameras and they all returned to their proper place, with the old models going back to the back room, lying in the same position they had once been in.  I breathed a sigh of relief and left the place as fast as I could to go home.

I know the head of security said I wouldn’t be in any danger, but with all these things ganging up on me like this, I didn’t feel quite so safe.  I wonder if the first guard had to deal with all of this.  I hope and pray that if – when I make it to the end of the week, they’ll let me switch shifts as well.  I don’t know how much more of this I can handle.

Leave a Reply

