Short Story – As You Go

A story based on the song “As You Go” by RED.  Another one with Gail and Cecil.

Shadows engulfed me that day. Both of us. Our reality was shattered at that point. My childhood innocence was taken that day. You ran away with it and I forgot, for a long time, what it was to be happy. The precious memories I had with you were buried deep in my mind to cope with the pain. I forgot about you.

You promised me we would always be together. Nothing would take us apart. We would be happy. In those days, we thought that promises could never be broken. But you did break it. You left me behind. Why? Why would you do this to me?

I know you told me not to be afraid when you were gone. I know… I can survive without you. But that doesn’t make it any easier.

Cecil. Axel. I’m trying hard. You were both there for me when I needed you. But now I’m on my own. I have to go through all the pain alone. But maybe that’s for the best.

How could it possibly be for the best, Gail?” Cecil asks me.

I smile at him and say, “Because now I have the strength to stay by your side when you need me most.”

He blinks and tips his head. “But, you need me more than I need you, don’t you?”

Idiot. You’re the one who’s hurting the most.” I grab his wing tip and tug him closer to me. “I realize that one day you’re going to have to go on your own. No, you have been on your own, and you couldn’t handle it. I could.”

He blinks. “Gail…”

I’m trying to tell you that wherever you may go eventually, that you need to remember to have the strength to get through it on your own. Do you know how I did it?”

How?” he asks with some hesitation.

I thought of you. And Axel. Being by my side. It was painful at first because you weren’t actually there, but… the thought comforted me. Made me feel like you were there.”

He blinks. “So you’re saying that, even when you’re not here, I should pretend you are and that will make me stronger?”

Something like that.” I pat him on the shoulder. “As you go about your life, or go hurdling toward your death, just remember, I’m right here to go through it with you.”

Even if you’re not?”

I chuckle and nod, wrapping my arms around him. “Yeah. Even if I’m not, I will be.”

Leave a Reply

