The NaNo Dilemma

NaNoWriMo is that time of year where you work hard all throughout the month of November to try and write a whole novel before the end of the month (or at least 50,000 words if not the entire thing).  It’s a daunting task for some, and for others it’s a walk in the park.

For the past few years it hasn’t been too much of a problem for me.  Sure, it gets a little hairy at times, and you don’t always think you’re going to make it in the end, but I’ve been able to pull through, and especially last year with my horror-comedy Blood Shots and White Nails.  It was something so fun to write and it always kept me motivated to continue on.

Well, this year, I decided to be crazy and write two novels at once, and it actually worked out pretty well… for a time.  But I kept struggling and struggling, not because the two novels at once thing was difficult to keep up with, but simply because these stories are difficult to write in general.  They’re emotionally draining, not only because of the content, but also because it’s a story that I’ve been working on for about four years and have changed more times than I can count and the frustration over never getting it right is starting to get to me.

So I’ve decided these are not good stories to work on for NaNoWriMo.  I’m not quitting, though.  I still have determination to go on.  What am I going to do in their place?

I’m writing Undertale fan fiction.

So for the remainder of the month (what little of it is left), that’s what I’ll be doing (and it will probably go on through December as well).  I hope you’re not disappointed in me, but I think this is the best course of action for me to take.  Monsters in My Mind and Tenebris Somnia are rather personal stories for me, so I think it will be best that I work on them in my own time when I feel I’m up to it.  For now, for my own mental stability, I’m going to write something that makes me happy.

And as advice to any other writers out there struggling with their own stories, maybe if the same thing is happening to you, you should take a break and write something that will make you feel happier.  That’s not to say you should totally abandon your other story, but rather just do something else to rekindle your energy so you’ll hopefully be able to find your spark for that old story again (and pray that it actually works out for you eventually).

Keep the words flowing, no matter what it may be.

One thought on “The NaNo Dilemma

  1. That’s exactly what happened to me last year! My novel was so important to me, something I had been reshaping and re-planning for years, and the fear and self-applied pressure of not making it absolutely perfect was so draining I had no other choice but to quit. I realized that NaNo is great for getting a story out, but for me it has to be a story that isn’t so important I will cry because it isn’t turning out right XP Ah, the woes of being a writer _| ̄|○

Leave a Reply

