Fan Fiction – Undertale: The Six Human Souls – Part 2, Chapter 1

My Undertale fan fiction, The Six Human Souls.  This is chapter one of part two. The orange soul arrives in the underground.  Is he gonna survive?  Probably not, but let’s see what happens anyway.

Please enjoy.

Part 2
Part 2 – Grifford’s Bravery

Chapter 1 – Fallen Down

Grifford gazed up at the hole he had just fallen through. A patch of golden flowers had softened his fall, but he was still dazed. Warm sunlight touched his skin and felt somewhat rejuvenating, but he still didn’t make any effort to stand up.

Well, I’ve fallen down. What should I do now? It’s way too high to climb back up, plus I’ve never been good at climbing even with ropes. I think I might be screwed.

He sighed and closed his eyes. This was no way to be acting. He was still alive, right? Maybe there was a different way out. He should at least get up and check around. He was just acting ridiculous.

After a moment more of lying in the flowers, Grifford pushed himself up to his feet, wobbling a little before regaining his balance. He glanced around the cave, stretching his arms out in all directions and cracking his neck to one side. “Ah, that’s a bit better. Let’s see, where should I go?”

He turned around and around several times before he finally noticed a doorway that seemed to lead out of the cave he was stuck in. Grifford made his way through the door and found himself at the entrance of some huge structure.

Well, guess I’ve found a way out.”

Ah!” Footsteps approached him and Grifford glanced behind him to see a tall monster standing there. He blinked and jumped back a little.

Whoa, a goat!”

Toriel gazed down at Grifford, a small smile on her face. “Greetings, my child. I am Toriel. Have you fallen down from the mountain?”

Uhh, yeah, I did,” Grifford said, rubbing the back of his head with a guilty nod. “But I survived, because I’m just that awesome!”

Toriel blinked at the boy in front of her then chuckled a little. “Yes, well, I see. Why don’t you come with me? I can lead you through the Ruins. They’re a dangerous place and we wouldn’t want you getting hurt, right?”

Wait, hold on a sec. You’re a monster, right?”

Well, yes, I am.”

Does that mean you’re going to like, cook me up into a pie and eat me or something?”

Toriel looked shocked by this. “Why would I ever do such a horrible thing as that?”

Well, monsters are bad, right?”

Ah, that’s what the humans say about us, isn’t it?” She sighed and shook her head. “No, my child, we are not bad. Well, at least not all of us. I assure you, I have no desire to harm you. I wish to protect you.”

Protect me from what?” Grifford asked in a suspicious tone. “How do I know I can trust you at all?”

Toriel blinked at the boy, looking as if she were lost for words. “Well… what other choice do you have?”

Grifford looked all around him then shrugged his shoulders. “Well, you’ve got a point there. But if you try to eat me, I’m not gonna go down without a fight, got it?”

I won’t try to eat you, I promise,” Toriel assured him, a smile on her face. “Please, come with me. I’ll guide you through the Ruins and to my house. There are a lot of puzzles around, and some of them can be dangerous.”

Grifford grimaced at the mention of puzzles. “Oh, well… in that case I guess I really should go with you. I’m not really the type to do puzzles.”

Toriel gave him a light pat on the head. “Well, then stay with me, and I can take you through.” She led him all throughout the Ruins, navigating through all the different puzzles, occasionally stopping to tell him about certain things. Grifford followed her closely, looking worried about all the spikes they found everywhere, but glad that Toriel could solve everything so easily.

So,” Grifford said as they walked. “I, uh, I should probably be looking for a way back to the surface, get back home, y’know what I’m sayin’?”

Toriel gave him a sideways glance. “What makes you think there’s a way out of the underground, my child? If there was, would we not have left it ourselves?”

He stiffened a bit at the tone in her voice, so much darker than she had previously been. “Well, I mean, I suppose you make a fair point, but there’s always got to be a way out of these types of places, right?”

She sighed and shook her head. “Well… there is one way out, but it would be impossible for you to get there right now. Now please, hold off all your questions until we get home.”

Home…” Grifford rested a hand on his stomach and frowned. He was quite hungry, but he felt bad asking Toriel if she would have anything to eat, especially after accusing her of wanting to eat him.

Finally, they got to the end of the Ruins, and Toriel brought him to the entrance of a house. Grifford gazed up at it curiously, wondering what a house was doing in a place like this. Toriel went inside and he followed her.

Make yourself at home,” she said with a smile. “There’s a room here that you can use, and there are plenty of books if you want something to do. Oh, but you’re probably hungry! I should make you something. What would you like?”

Grifford was a bit overwhelmed by all the attention all of a sudden. “Um, what’cha got?”

That… is a very good question. Why don’t you come to the kitchen with me and we’ll find out.” Toriel turned and walked to the kitchen, and Grifford followed cautiously, thinking this was just the sort of opportunity a monster would take to try and eat him.

She started looking through cabinets as well as her fridge and Grifford hung back at the doorway, watching her. “Well, I have some snails, but I have a feeling you won’t want that,” she said with a soft laugh. Grifford made a face and shook his head. Toriel kept searching. “Oh, well… we only have mostly sweets. Would you like some chocolate? I have some here.”

Well, I mean, if that’s all you got, sure, I’ll take it.”

Toriel turned to him, holding out a brand-name chocolate bar, a smile on her face. Grifford went toward her, gazing at the chocolate, then took it from her hands and slowly unwrapped it. It was cold, as it had been in the fridge, but as he bit into it, he found that the chill made it taste much better.

Not bad, not bad,” he said with a nod of his head, trying to play it cool.

I’m glad you like it.” Toriel beamed and brushed past him out of the kitchen and went back to the living room where she settled into her armchair. Grifford followed her, still nibbling on the chocolate bar.

So, uh… about getting back to the surface.”

Toriel sighed and nodded her head. “Yes, well, I’m afraid the way is blocked by many dangers, and it would mean certain death if you went.” She paused and looked down at the fire for a moment before adding, “It’s already happened once before.”

Grifford settled down into a chair by the dining table, facing himself toward Toriel. “What do you mean? Did another human fall down here and get killed or something?”

The look on Toriel’s face turned to one of great sorrow and she nodded her head. “I… I do not wish it to happen again. Asgore – the King of all monsters – he wishes to gather seven human souls to destroy the barrier that’s holding us down here, and when he does, he’ll return to the surface and slaughter every last human. I do not wish such a thing.”

Grifford’s eyes grew wide and he looked down at the chocolate bar he held. Suddenly everything just got way worse in a matter of seconds. “What… what should I do, then?”

Toriel looked up, her eyes sparkling. “You should stay here, with me. I can protect you. If you do not leave the Ruins, no one will know about your presence here. No one ever comes to the Ruins, so it’s not as if they’ll be able to find out unless you leave. You’ll be safe here.”

Yeah, but… it sounds like this King of yours is mad with power. Should we really allow someone like that to be ruling?”

Toriel gazed at him. “No, no, it’s not like that. Asgore is… Asgore is a good king. It’s merely his policy on humans that is unacceptable. Killing children to get what he wants.” She said this last part under her breath, and Grifford saw a twinge of regret in her eyes.

How many has he killed?” Grifford asked, sounding more serious than before.

Only one,” Toriel murmured. “But still, it was one too many.”

Well, uh, I may not know everything there is to know about monsters, but I heard that a monster who gains a human’s soul has unstoppable power, right?”

That is correct.”

So if he has a human soul already, what’s stopping him from going to kill the humans now?”

A horrified look came over Toriel’s face, and she seemed to grow paler than before, despite her white fur. “He… I believe he wishes to gather seven souls in all before going to destroy your people.”

Well!” Grifford stood up suddenly, pounding his hands on the table. “I’m not gonna let him do that! We’ve got to do something about him!”

Keeping you here is doing something about it,” Toriel said, now a stern look on her face. “If you go out there, he will kill you, and he’ll just be one soul closer to his goal. I cannot allow you to leave, child.”

Grifford grimaced and looked down at his hands, and the two leather gloves he was wearing. “I don’t think I should just be sitting around and doing nothing, though. That’s not how I do things.”

Toriel stood and walked over to him, resting her hands on his shoulders and leaning down to look him in the eyes. “Please, my child. Just stay here with me, where it will be safe. I will protect you from Asgore and any who attempt to take you away. I will not let you die. You must trust me. I will take good care of you.”

Grifford gazed up at her, then grimaced again. He couldn’t take the soulful look in her eyes. It reminded him of his own mother, which only made his desire to get home stronger, which made this all the harder. He let out a shaky breath then nodded his head.

Alright. I’ll stay with you, for now.”

Leave a Reply

