Fan Fiction – Undertale: The Six Human Souls – Part 2, Chapter 5

My Undertale fan fiction, The Six Human Souls.  This is chapter five of part two.  It’s the end.  Too bad, so sad.  Oh yes, and the dialogue at the end of the chapter is in a different font for a specific reason.  It’s to mark specific characters talking.  And don’t worry, there are only a total of three characters that have different fonts, and I think only one of them is going to be prevalent throughout the story so it’s not going to happen often.

Please enjoy.

Part 2
Part 2 – Grifford’s Bravery

Chapter 5 – Bravery is Not Enough

Grifford was tossed to the floor in the throne room of the castle. He groaned a bit, then inhaled the scent of the flowers all around. He blinked a few times and glanced up to see the entire floor of the room was covered in flowers, as if the throne room had been converted into a garden.

The dog who had captured him stood over him with a proud expression on its face, panting and wagging its tail wildly. A deep voice in the back of the room said, “Leave us,” and the dog pranced away. Grifford pushed himself to his feet and peered across the room at the large figure standing there.

Are you the king, Asgore Dreemurr?” Grifford asked. The figure nodded and slowly stepped out of the shadows.

And you, human. You have been warned about your fate should you approach me. Are you prepared for what is to come?”

Grifford set his jaw and clenched his fists, his knuckles cracking a bit. “No, I can’t say I am prepared, but that doesn’t mean it’s not going to happen anyway, right?”

Hrm.” Asgore walked toward Grifford slowly, a grave look on his face. “You are correct child. I wish you to know, I wish it did not have to be this way, but I am doing this for my people. All I wish is for us to be happy again, to not have to live down here in turmoil and suffering. Can’t you understand that?”

Grifford sighed and nodded his head. “Yes, I do understand that. And… and I don’t think it’s fair for me to be standing in your way or that I could go home while you’re all still stuck down here for who knows how long. Yet at the same time, I don’t think it’s fair for you to be doing what you’re doing.”

Oh? Why is that? You humans have taken everything from us on more than one occasion. Why should we not pay you back for what you’ve done?”

Because revenge never solved anything,” Grifford answered. “I should think that if you knew suffering, you would not wish to do that to anyone else. But… maybe I’m just dumb. Heh, I’m only a kid after all. What do I know, right?”

Asgore stared at Grifford, and a soft shudder seemed to go through the boss monster’s body. It seemed as if his resolve were shaking, but then he put on a stern face and flared his nostrils. “Human, I wish you to know something. I am not doing this out of ill-will toward you. There simply is no other way.”

So don’t take it personally,” Grifford mumbled. “I get it. But if we’re going to do this, we should do this right.” He held up his fists and slid into a fighting stance, glaring hard at the king of monsters. “I’m not gonna go down without a fight. If you’re going to take my soul, then so be it, but let me feel like it was worth it. You’re doing this to give your people hope, right? Well, fighting you can give me some hope, too.”

Asgore stared at the boy, then he nodded his head gravely. “Very well, human. If you insist, then this is how it shall be.” He took a step back, and suddenly two cylinders appeared out of nowhere. One was empty, and the other held a glowing cyan heart – a human soul.

Grifford’s eyes grew wide when he saw this, and he clenched his fists tighter. Asgore was collecting seven human souls. If he beat Grifford, he would have two, and then, if five more humans ever found themselves down here, they would have their souls taken as well, and then Asgore would destroy humanity.

No, Grifford could not allow that. No matter how much these monsters had suffered, there was no way for them to justify wiping out all of humanity. Asgore must be stopped.

A huge trident appeared in Asgore’s hands, and Grifford’s heart sank at he sight of it. There was no way he could win against that, not when all he had to fight with were his fists. No. He had to fight. There was no other choice.

I’m not going to let you take anymore souls!” Grifford shouted, rushing toward Asgore with all his might. “I will defeat you, Monster King!”

#

Do you actually believe this is going to work? I mean, yes, I wish to find an alternative solution as much as you do, but-”

No, I don’t know if it’s going to work. We have no way of knowing unless we try, though, isn’t that right? That’s why I hired you, after all.”

Yes, yes, of course. I just feel… strangely about doing this.”

Don’t worry. Their souls won’t be harmed in this process. I’ve checked and double-checked everything, and I think it’s all good. We can begin tests as soon as you’re ready.”

Fine, fine. We’ll get right on it, your Majesty. If we find anything out, we’ll let you know immediately.”

Good. And please, have the human’s body preserved. If nothing else, I’d like to give him a proper burial.”

Of course, Asgore. I’ll see to it.”

Leave a Reply

