Story Idea – Hold Me Now

I wrote this story originally about three years ago, but now I’m at last rewriting it.  It was the first story I ever wrote with my character Cecil, the guardian angel, who has appeared in several more stories since.  The story I wrote this past month, Ordinary World, is a prequel to this one.  Now with more world building done, and some semblance of an actual outline, I hope this version will actually be what I had hoped it would be from the beginning.

Synopsis
Gail Wellers is a senior in college, just trying to get through life.  Between the start of her last year of school, family troubles, and dealing with the death of her brother that happened just months prior, a lot is weighing on her mind.  But her life takes a sharp turn when a man who claims to have known her back when she was a child suddenly appears.  She has no idea who he is and tries to put him out of her mind, but he keeps showing up until he finally reveals to her that he’s an angel sent to be her guardian.  As he tries to help her with her problems, Gail starts to realize that he has problems of his own, and perhaps she needs to be the one helping him instead.

The original idea for this story came from a dream I had, which is also where the character of Cecil came from.  The dream was just someone coming up to me and hugging me saying how they hadn’t seen me in so long, and I had no idea who he was.  Then this concept was born, and it grew and grew until this story developed from it.

The title, Hold Me Now, is from the RED song of the same name, Hold Me Now, which was also helping me develop the story quite a bit in its themes and aesthetics.  It generally helped me bring this story into a positive light that it might not have otherwise had, considering my knack for writing dark stories.  This story holds a special place in my heart, and I do hope I can do it justice with this new draft.

I hope you’ll stick around to see the end results of this new excursion of mine.

4 thoughts on “Story Idea – Hold Me Now

Leave a Reply

