Why I Love Lucifer

So I did a review of Lucifer just after the season one finale aired.  And considering season 2 is premiering tomorrow, I decided now was as good a time as any to do a post about why I love this show so much.  The fact that I bought the season 1 box set as soon as it came out (and I don’t buy things like that hardly ever) should be evidence enough that I like this show.

There are so many different reasons I love this show.  It’s just a well done show — great writing, acting, production, etc.  But of course there’s also more to it than that.  When I first saw a trailer for this show I sent it to my friend, saying that it looked like something she should watch, considering she was writing a story about the devil herself.  Eventually when the show was about halfway through airing she did start watching it and loved it and told me I needed to watch it too.  I didn’t start watching it until just before the season finale came on, and I binged it all online in about three days time so I could see that episode when it came on TV.

This show brought me closer to my friend on a level even deeper than we realized, because later, after we were planning on writing fan fictions together of this show, we somehow ended up talking about our own stories a lot until we combined them into a massive series together, and I’m not sure if that would have happened without Lucifer.  So that’s just a personal reason for me to love it.  (P.S. shameless advertising for our story blog, Beauty and Rage)

The writing in this show is something I strive to achieve with my own writing.  It’s just so good; it’s funny and charming and serious and heartbreaking and thought provoking all at once.  This show about the devil being a playboy in LA somehow has made me think more about my faith than anything else ever has, and I honestly feel like I get more out of it than I often do going to church, and that’s amazing and mind blowing to me all the time.  It’s just so genuine.

It’s gotten me to think about writing in different ways, helped me understand concepts that I had learned before but was never given really solid examples of.  It has so many layers and such great, deep themes that I could analyze it forever and still find something new every time I rewatch it (and believe me, I have watched this show a lot).  I am still, at some point, planning on analyzing every episode and writing something up about each of them, whenever I have the time.

There’s this term that Christians enjoy throwing around, which is whether or not something contains “Truth” with a capital T.  Well, out of everything I’ve ever seen or read, I think this show is one of the most Truth filled things ever.  Yes, it stars the devil not being quite so evil, but that’s not the point of the show.  It’s a show about humanity, the human condition.  It’s an incredibly optimistic show, telling us that despite all the horrible and depraved things humans are capable of and often do, we all still have a chance at redemption in one way or another.  We just have to make that choice and work at it.

It’s a truly beautiful show, and there are some episodes (one in particular) that always end up making me cry.  I could go on and on about this show until I’ve got no breath left, but I’ll spare you that.  Please just do yourself a favor and go watch it.  A whole new season is starting and I cannot wait to see what else they have in store for us.  I want to laugh again, and I want to cry, and I want them to make me think even deeper than before.

Here’s to another season, you beautiful devil.

lucifer-season-2-1

Leave a Reply

