Novel Excerpt – Gravity Lies (Chapter 10)

A short excerpt from chapter 10 of my novella, Gravity Lies.  I recently went through the entire rough draft and edited it so I could post it on my other blog.  Here’s just a sample and it’s one of my favorite parts of the story.  If you’d like to read the entire story, you can find it on the blog Of Beauty and Rage.

37c654e8ed728aae5cd2e8dfadbe626b

Brothers?” Hannah kept looking between the two strange men. Beth pressed closer to Cynder who wrapped his arms around her in a protective, or possibly possessive manner.

That’s right. We’re brothers. Or at least we used to be.” Cynder eyed Cecil more closely and frowned. “My, my, isn’t it just like Father to send you after me?”

I didn’t know it was going to be you,” Cecil hissed, his voice stiff. “All Gabriel told me was that I should keep my eyes out for a demon.”

Oh, yes, I’m sure that was all. Just because you didn’t know doesn’t mean Gabriel didn’t.”

I don’t think he did.”

Well, perhaps not,” Cynder said, and his tongue swiped briefly across his teeth. “But Father most certainly did, and Father was the one who gave Gabriel the order to give to you. Why do you suppose that would be, hm?”

Cecil shuddered and took a small step back. “I’m supposed to call for backup and bring the others here to destroy you.”

But you wouldn’t do that, would you?” Cynder let go of Beth and stepped closer to Cecil, leaving the two girls alone to just watch as these supernatural beings dealt with each other. “I’m your brother, after all. I may be playing for the other team now, but even so you couldn’t hurt me or bring yourself to do anything that would destroy me, could you?”

Cecil clenched his hands into fists, breathing much more heavily. He turned his face away and hung his head, letting out a deep sigh. “I… no, you’re right. I can’t…”

So then, what are you going to do?” Cynder tilted his head to the side. “Are you going to lie to Gabriel and Father and tell them you couldn’t find me?”

Cecil shuddered and brought his head back up to meet Cynder’s eyes. “No, I’m not going to do that.”

Then just what are you going to do, hm?” Cynder leaned closer, a small smile on his lips.

I’m… I’m going to save you.”

At this Cynder drew back, looking confused at first and then letting out a howl of laughter. “You? You’re going to save me? And what does that mean exactly, Cecil?”

I’m going to bring you back out of the darkness that you fell into. I’m going to make you see the light again. Father wants you to come home. So do I.”

Cynder snorted. “Father wants me back? What a joke. If Father actually cared about us, things wouldn’t have turned out the way they did, and you know that damn well, Cecil.”

Cecil flinched but he held his ground, looking Cynder straight in the eye. “I think you’re wrong. I think I can bring you back.”

Leave a Reply

