Year in Review and What’s to Come

I wasn’t originally planning on doing a post like this but I thought about it a little and it seems like a good thing to do.  Consider this my farewell to 2016 and a welcome to 2017.  Everyone else is doing it, so I might as well too, right?

Everyone is saying that 2016 was a terrible year, and honestly I can’t exactly disagree.  A lot of great people died, countless tragedies occurred, not to mention an incredibly tense political/election season.  I didn’t have the greatest year personally either, but I’m going to try and look at the positives, because thinking about it there were more positives than I give myself credit for.

I wrote and finished a total of 4 different stories as well as fully editing one of them (something I almost never do).  Though I still have yet to finish it entirely, I did keep with my NaNoWriMo project this year unlike last year where I just scrapped it entirely and wrote fan fiction.  It’s not going as well as I’d hoped it would, but it is a good start to a story that I think I can someday be proud of at least.

I gained a writing partner and together we decided to combine our two angel story universes into one and make one large co-authored series.  We made a blog for it and although it’s had a rocky start, we’ve gotten it to a place that I think we’re happy with for the time being.  Go check it out – Of Beauty and Rage.

My favorite TV show came out this year and not only has it made me happy just to have something great to watch, it’s also given me more inspiration for writing and a lot of things to think about.  And in the coming weeks I’ll be talking about it even more.

This year my best friend (and previously mentioned writing partner) came to visit me during Halloween and it was probably the highlight of my year.  Not only did I have fun with my best friend, but we did a lot of writing together and got to watch horror movies and Lucifer together.  Basically it was great.

There was a lot of not-so-great stuff that happened to me this year too, mostly to do with my mental health, but I see no reason in mentioning any of that.  It’s been especially difficult these last couple of months, but the holiday season is always incredibly stressful.  Because of that, I’m trying to look for more positive things to keep my spirits high for the coming year.  These aren’t resolutions so much as just things I have planned to attempt to accomplish this year.  I always make out a writing schedule for the year, so here’s what I’m going to try and do for 2017.

  • January – June: Edit Hold Me Now and post on Of Beauty and Rage blog
  • February – March: Write new draft of Demon’s Lullaby
  • April: Camp NaNoWriMo – Write Nothing and Everything
  • July: Camp NaNoWriMo – Write Never Be the Same
  • August – September: Write Out From Under
    Edit Ordinary World and post on Of Beauty and Rage blog.
  • November: NaNoWriMo – Undecided project as of now

So as you can see, I have a rather busy schedule for what I do with my writing time, and now that I’ve got an actual story blog where I post my work, it’s forcing me to do actual editing which I almost never did before, as well as giving me deadlines and keeping me from wanting to rewrite all the time as much like I normally do.  With as many stories as I have and my tendency to just want to keep rewriting the same ones over and over again, having a schedule like this makes things go a lot smoother for me.  Am I ambitious? Perhaps; my secondary house is Slytherin after all.

As far as this blog goes, I’m having difficulty in figuring out subjects to write about every single week, in case that wasn’t obvious (and perhaps it wasn’t).  But fear not, I’m still going to endeavor to post something each week.  I’ve decided to post individual episode analyzations for my favorite show, Lucifer, because I’ve watched it more times than I can count at this point and there’s just so much to find in it.  So look forward to that in the coming weeks; I certainly am.

I think that’s about it for now.  Let’s see what the next year brings for us and hope that, even during all the bad things that are bound to happen, we can find something positive in it as well.  Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

