Story Idea – The Vampire in My Basement

For Camp NaNo this month I was going to do one story and then scrapped it at the last minute, deciding to do something else with it instead.  But I still wanted to do Camp NaNo so I decided I wanted to work on one of my vampire stories.  And so here we are.

This is the first story in what I plan to make a very large series.  It’s a comedic children’s/middle grade story about a family of vampire hunters (the Vanhelsings) and Vlad Dracula.  I wrote a story in this series back in 2014 and it was the most fun I ever had writing probably anything, so now I’m refining the ideas better with this one.

Synopsis
Mina Vanhelsing is the young daughter of the greatest family of vampire hunters ever.  Her family is keeping a secret from her, she knows, and she is determined to find out what it is.  But when she gets down into the basement they always keep locked, she finds the family’s terrible secret: Dracula himself lives in their basement.  And now he’s going to be her best friend.

I have been meaning to get back to this series since I finished the first story and I’m glad I’m finally making myself do it.  Since I started the story it’s been a lot of fun.  I love these characters and this setting so much, so hopefully this story will work out better than the last Camp NaNo.

Leave a Reply

