Novel Excerpt – The Vampire in My Basement (Chapter 2)

Here’s a short excerpt of my current WIP, The Vampire in My Basement.  This is from the end of chapter 2, when Vlad first enters the story.

Please enjoy.

(Note: this is an unedited rough draft)

As Mina made her way into the room, she was surprised to see it was fully furnished, as if someone lived there. There was a small fireplace with an armchair in front of it. There was also a sofa and a TV in one corner of the room. Several bookshelves lined the walls and she saw a bed in the back of the room along with a wardrobe. Beyond that was a door that presumably led to a bathroom.

But the thing that caught Mina’s attention the most was a large black coffin leaning up against the wall. She slowly made her way over to it, gazing up at it with wide eyes. There appeared to be writing on the coffin, but it was in some language she could not read. She carefully reached her hand up to touch it, but just before her fingers could brush the surface of the coffin, she heard a voice close to her ear.

What do you think you’re doing down here, child?”

Mina froze in place, her hand just inches from the coffin. Shivers went up her spine and she slowly turned her head and looked up. A very tall man stood behind her, his eyes glinting in the dimness of the room, almost looking like they were glowing blood red. He wore nothing but black, a long cloak around his shoulders. His skin was pale and his hair black, long enough to fall down to his shoulders. He also had a goatee, and as he curled his lips at her she saw fangs in his mouth.

The man slowly lowered himself down to her level so he was almost nose to nose with her. “I said, what are you doing down here, child?” he repeated, his voice dark and chilling.

Exploring,” Mina said quietly as she gazed up at the man. “Who are you?”

His mouth slowly curled into a smile. “Who am I? My name is Vlad Dracula, but you can call me Vlad.”

Mina’s eyes grew wide as she stared at him. “Dracula? Like the real life Dracula?”

The one and only,” he said. “And what about you, child? What’s your name?”

Mina Vanhelsing,” she said, standing a little straighter and gazing at him just a bit defiantly. “My parents are the greatest vampire hunters in the world.”

Vlad chuckled. “So I’ve been told. And yet they still haven’t managed to slay me in the centuries your family has been hunting me down. What do you think about that?”

Mina hesitated and she wasn’t quite sure what to think about it. She tilted her head to the side and asked, “Why are you in our basement?”

Why do you think I’m in your basement?” he asked.

Do my parents know you’re here?”

Mm, what difference does it make if they do?” he asked, standing slowly back to his full height. He was quite tall and Mina had to stare up to look at his face.

Well if they don’t, then maybe you’re sneaking in here to try and kill all of us,” she said. “But if they do, then maybe they like you. Or maybe they imprisoned you.” Mina’s eyes grew wide with sudden realization. It would explain why her mother had told her not to go down to the basement and why the door was kept locked. She swallowed and peered up at him. “Are you a prisoner?”

Perhaps I am,” he said, tilting his head to the side as he looked down at her. “What do you suppose that would mean for you if I was?”

I don’t know,” she said quietly, backing up a step. She bumped into the coffin and gasped a little and Vlad chuckled.

Are you frightened?” he asked, reaching his hand out to her but stopping just short of touching her shoulder. “Regretting coming down here?”

No,” she said, frowning at him. “I’m not scared of you.”

Are you sure? I can see you shaking and I can hear your heart beating faster.” He leaned closer to her and she could feel his breath on her face. “You’re terrified.”

Am not!” Mina shot back. “I’m going to be a great vampire hunter just like my mum! No vampires are going to scare me, not even Dracula!”

Vlad grinned at her. “Is that so? Why don’t you prove it to me, little Vanhelsing?”

How am I supposed to do that?” Mina asked, glaring at him defiantly.

Vlad leaned down close to her, a wide grin on his face that showed off his sharp fangs. “Why don’t we play a game of hide and seek?”

Leave a Reply

